Modding Minecraft for Mac OS X (Leopard and higher)

Requirments: Mac OS Snow Leopard and up on any Mac computer that has a 64-bit processor. http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3696

Ok I know why mods don’t work for many people running 10.5.8 on an Intel Mac. If you have downloaded the latest Java Update, yet it is still only Java 5, it is because you most likely have a 32-bit Intel processor. Java 6, which is what almost every Minecraft mod is compiled in, requires a 64-bit processor. I know this because I have done a lot of research into it (I have a 32-bit Mac and I have been trying to mod Minecraft for the longest time). Unless you can somehow find a mod out there compiled in Java 5 (I have yet to find one), you’re not going to be able to mod Minecraft unless you either upgrade to Snow Leopard (which supports Java 6 on 32-bit Macs) or buy a new computer with a 64-bit processor. I’m not sure whether or not SoyLatte would work because I have no idea how to download and install it successfully so that I would have Java 6. If anyone knows, could they please post a tutorial? It would be greatly appreciated. ~Mike Smith

And as of Mac OS Lion (10.7.x) and up: Java install required, Mac OS will prompt you to install it the first time you run a java application.

Section 1: Mac OS 10.5 (Leopard) users read this first, Mac OS 10.6 users skip to section 2
NOTE: I am pretty sure that if you are on a PPC Mac this will not work, because PPC Macs cannot install Java 1.6 only Java 1.5.0_26

First make sure that you have Java 6 installed, you can see your java versions in the “Java Preferences” app found in the Utilities folder.
If you don’t have it installed, run software update to bring to up to speed in the latest updates.
While you have the  “Java Preferences” app open make sure that Java 6 is at the top in the two lists. If not, drag it to the top.

Find your Minecraft application (Also called the Minecraft Launcher). Right click it and choose show package contents.
Navigate into the contents folder and open the Info.plist with TextEdit.
Find these lines and change the 1.5+ to 1.6+, save it and close TextEdit.
JVMVersion
1.5+

After doing that, go to the Finder and press command+shift+g and past in this path /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/A/Resources/MacOS

Once you’re in the folder you should see a file named “JavaApplicationStub”, copy that to the Mac OS folder in the Minecraft app ( Minecraft.app>”Right click and Show Package Contents”>Contents>MacOS )

Yay! Your mods should now be able to work! Next step is to install them!

Section 2: Installing the mods into the minecraft.jar file.

Section 2 is a rewritten version of a post in the MC Forums.
via Mac 10.5 and modding – Minecraft Forums.

Find the minecraft.jar file. It is located at /Users/####/Library/Application Support/minecraft/bin/
Open the minecraft.jar using the Archive Utility (Right click>Open With>Archive Utility). Note: In some Mac OS release (I suspect since Mountain Lion), Archive Utility changed and it will not open .jar files anymore. Instead you get stuck in a endless loop. Use something like The Unarchiver instead. Or practice your nerd skills and use the command-line!
A folder should now appear in the bin folder called “minecraft”, it will have lots of .class files in it.
Drop the .class files that came with the mod into this folder, then find and delete the META_INF folder.
Select all the files *in* the “minecraft” folder, right click and choose “Compress XXX items”. (If you select the “minecraft” folder instead of it’s contents when compressing, minecraft will not work!)
It will make a .zip file called “Archive.zip”, move it into the bin folder. Rename the mincraft.jar file to mincraft.old.jar, and rename the “Archive.zip” to minecraft.jar. Finder will ask you if you really want to change the extension to .jar, choose change.
Now your mods should be installed and working, and you can delete the “minecraft” folder that contains the .class files since it isn’t needed anymore.
Some mods also require that you put their support files in the /Users/####/Library/Application Support/minecraft/mods folder, check your downloaded mod for a “mods” folder and move it’s contents to the /Users/####/Library/Application Support/minecraft/mods folder.

Section 3: Alternate method of installing mods

Find the minecraft.jar file. It is located at /Users/####/Library/Application Support/minecraft/bin/
Open the minecraft.jar using the Archive Utility (Right click>Open With>Archive Utility). Note: In some Mac OS release (I suspect since Mountain Lion), Archive Utility changed and it will not open .jar files anymore. Instead you get stuck in a endless loop. Use something like The Unarchiver instead. Or practice your nerd skills and use the command-line!
A folder should now appear in the bin folder called “minecraft”, it will have lots of .class files in it.
Drop the .class files that came with the mod into this folder, then find and delete the META_INF folder.
Now instead of compressing the folders contents as is done above, simply rename the “minecraft” folder with the .class files to minecraft.jar
Downside to this method is that minecraft balks when a trying to install a update, it is looking for a real .jar file and only finds a folder. Strangely the game itself works fine, just updating doesn’t.
So for updates, you just need to deleted the whole bin folder and start up the launcher which will then download the updated files when using this method.

Section 4: Finish

Your mods should now be installed and working, if not it is very likely that you made an error when re-compressing the mincraft folder contents.
If the mods don’t work or Minecraft doesn’t even get to the game menu, delete the minecraft.jar file, rename the minecraft.old.jar to minecraft.jar and try again. First time I did this, it took me several tries before I got it right.


Another Way of Doing It. Fastest and least error prone!

Commenter Peter points out that you can also do this through the command line.

There is a third method for opening the minecraft.jar file and in my opinion it is the easiest by far.

Open terminal and copy/past this code section,
cd ~
mkdir mctmp
cd mctmp
jar xf ~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar

now in users there is a folder called MCTMP (this is the minecraft.jar file) pass (move) your .class files from the downloaded mod into that folder, then copy/paste this code section into terminal:
NOTE: do NOT delete the the META_INF folder. the code will do it for you.

rm META-INF/MOJANG_C.*
jar uf ~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar ./
cd ..
rm -rf mctmp

Now boot up minecraft and have fun playing!

135 Comments on “Modding Minecraft for Mac OS X (Leopard and higher)”

  1. ethannat says:

    Hey. Thanks for taking the time to explain this, but I have a couple of questions.
    I can’t exactly tell if I have Java 6 downloaded. The last Java software that’s been downloaded to my computer via Software Update was “Java for Mac OS X 10.5 Update 8″ and I’m not sure if that includes Java 6 or not (and I’m sure that I don’t have any software updates sitting around. My software is completely up to date).

    And another question: In your tutorial, you tell us to find “JavaVM.framework”. Even though I do have a “Frameworks” file, full of other files, I do not have JavaVM.framework anywhere on my computer. I have also tried searching for “JavaApplicationStub”, but it was to no avail. As a side note, I found that in “Info.Plist”, “JavaApplicationStub” is mentioned in the data.

    Thanks for the awesome tutorial,
    Ethannat

    • McYukon says:

      I should mention that I didn’t write this guide, I found it after some extensive googling after having the same problem so I thought I would repost it here for easier access.

      “Java for Mac OS X 10.5 Update 8″ is the latest update for 10.5.x.

      To see what version of java you have running go to, http://javatester.org/version.html

      Also look in Applications/Utilities/Java Preferences and check in the General Tab that the newest version of Java is at the top in both lists.

      I’m not sure why you can’t find the JavaApplicationStub, it should be located @ /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/A/Resources/MacOS/JavaApplicationStub or System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/Mac OS
      Go to the Finder and press command+g and paste in the above paths, at least one off em should work.

      I’m not sure why but some people don’t seem to have the JavaVM.framework folder, only reason for this I can think of is that the java version is different/outdated on those machines.

      • ethannat says:

        Yeah, so I’m running java 1.5.0_26, which is Java for Mac OS X 10.5 Update 8. So now that I know I have the latest Java for Mac, the only problem is that I just can’t find JavaVM anywhere, let alone JavaApplicationStub. Here’s a screenshot of my current Frameworks folder if it helps:

        Oh, and for some reason the command+g shortcut isn’t working for me. Where am I supposed to be pasting the path?

        • McYukon says:

          From your screenshot I think that you are in the wrong Frameworks folder.
          There are two of them, one in Macintosh HD>Library and another in Macintosh HD>System>Library. You need the second one.

          http://tinypic.com/r/6ih37t/7

          Oh sorry, it’s command+shift+g
          The “Go to Folder” command should also be in the Finder under the “Go” menubar item.

          There’s another problem I’ve just found out.

          The latest Java update for 10.5.x has two versions in it.
          One version is for PPC Macs running 10.5.x, updating Java to v1.5.0_26.
          The other version is for Intel Macs running 10.5.x, and will update Java to v1.6

          Unfortunately, the above solution will only work Java 1.6 which can only be installed on Intel Macs, so an old PPC iMac I have cannot use the above method because Java will not update to 1.6.
          Plenty of complaints all over the web because of this, http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1784309

  2. ethannat says:

    Ok, great news.
    I got into the correct Frameworks folder, and have “JavaApplicationStub”. Now, just one quick question; when you said “Now go back to the contents folder and go into the “MacOS” folder there and paste ‘JavaApplicationStub'” in your initial tutorial, do you mean that there should be two “JavaApplicationStub” files in the same MacOS folder, or a different one?

    Oh, and I’m almost positive that I’m not using a PPC Mac, as the Processor I’m using is a 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (http://i55.tinypic.com/w0j8qq.jpg). But it is weird that I’m only running Java 1.5.0_26. Also, when you say “old PPC iMac”, what do you mean? I have an iMac Model Number A1200, which was first available September 2006, and discontinued August 2007. It is classified as an “iMac Intel” at http://www.powerbookmedic.com/ so I’m really not sure why I don’t have Java 1.6.

    • McYukon says:

      No, there should only be one JavaApplicationStub in there (The one from Macintosh HD>System>Library>Frameworks .etc).

      Ok, you should be able to run Java 1.6 as you have an Intel 64 bit capable machine.
      It may be installed just not active so open the Java Preferences in Applications>Utilities, under the General tab you should see something like Java SE 5 and Java 6. If the Java isn’t at the top of the lists drag it to the top.

      http://tinypic.com/r/4uyiwo/7

      I have the iMac G5 (2004) stashed away, don’t use it for anything but watching movies as most of my applications no longer work in it.

      • ethannat says:

        Okay, I have Java SE 6 on the top of the list in Java Preferences now.

        The only thing that I currently don’t understand is this step in the process:
        Once done with that open a new finder window and go to Mac > System > Library > Frameworks > JavaVM.framework > Resources > Mac OS and then copy the file named “JavaApplicationStub”.
        Now go back to the contents folder and go into the “MacOS” folder there and paste “JavaApplicationStub”.

        I understand copying “JavaApplicationStub”, but where am I supposed to paste it? As there are two “MacOS” folders mentioned in those instructions, I’m not sure which one to paste into. I guess to simplify the question would be to ask: How do I find the “contents folder” with the 2nd “MacOS” folder in it?
        (with the first one being the one in this path: Mac > System > Library > Frameworks > JavaVM.framework > Resources > Mac OS)

        I really hope that I didn’t make that too confusing.

        • McYukon says:

          Once done with that open a new finder window and go to Mac > System > Library > Frameworks > JavaVM.framework > Resources > Mac OS and then copy the file named “JavaApplicationStub”.
          Now go back to the contents folder and go into the “MacOS” folder there and paste “JavaApplicationStub”.

          The second MacOS folder is the one in the Minecraft application and is almost in the same place where you have to edit the .plist.
          On the Minecraft application, right click and “Show Package Contents” the Contents>MacOS

          • Michael says:

            I can’t seem to find the Minecraft Application…I have yet to get a “Show Package Contents” option. Where do I need to right click?

            • McYukon says:

              Open minecraft, then in the dock right click on the minecraft application and click on “Show in Finder”. It will show you the minecraft app where you can then right click and click on “Show Package Contents”

  3. ethannat says:

    Okay, great news! I have everything set up and my mods are installing as we speak!!! Thanks for all of the amazing help and thanks again for compiling all of this information onto your website!!!

    Peace out,
    Ethannat

  4. dhbm666 says:

    you sir, are my god! now i dont have to spend the $34 to upgrade to snow leopard!

  5. Christopher says:

    Erm, you helped alot but my minecraft some how crashed during the Updating Minecraft screen. Can you help? Please.

    • McYukon says:

      What Mac OS version do you have, and what processor type (ie. PPC or Intel). Both can be found in “About This Mac” under the Apple menu.

      Whenever I had this problem, it was because I wasn’t re-compressing the file correctly.
      Make absolutely sure that you deleted the META_INF folder before compressing, and that you are only compressing the folders contents.

      Also you might want to try the alternative method I now have included in the above Section 3

  6. Ferris Bueller says:

    Thanks so much for this!

  7. TVL says:

    I did this a while ago, and now I can’t seem to find the JavaVM.framework folder, I
    did this a while ago and it was there, but it isn’t anymore. I need to do this again because I got the new Minecraft launcher, and now I can’t seem to find the folder.

    • McYukon says:

      It likes hiding from me too, in the Finder press command+shift+g and paste in this /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/A/Resources/MacOS
      Press enter and it should take you to the folder it is in.

  8. TVL says:

    Ah, thank you so much :D

  9. gabe says:

    it wont let me search (System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/Mac OS.) in the command+shift+g part any help?

    • McYukon says:

      It’s /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/A/Resources/MacOS
      Paste and copy that to the command+shift+g dialogue box and it should work.
      Unless the path differs on different systems, I kinda doubt it though.

  10. statusoffline says:

    Hi. i’v followed your step’s like 20 times now and still no luck. Im on a mac book (metal). When I try to start the game up I see the loading done screen for about 0.1 of a sec and then like always the black screen of death.

  11. statusoffline says:

    maybe I could send you my minecraft file. And you could have a look at it to see if theirs any thing wrong with it.

  12. statusoffline says:

    cool man. Thanks. I’ll try them out

    • McYukon says:

      You can try using this to mod, http://tfcmods.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/minecraft-mod-manager-11-3/
      I know people who sweat by it.
      You download the .jar, open it by double clicking it.
      The you use the +Box to add the still .zipped mods you downloaded. It needs the mod the way you downloaded it, in the .zip or whatever it came in.
      Then you click the little gear and check that all the paths are right.
      Click Save and then press the Finish Modding button on the right.

      And I still haven’t been able to get the Plane mod installed.

      • statusoffline says:

        I think its just that plane mod then.
        All the other mod’s now work but still not the planes.
        I’ll try that thing u sent me. thanks

  13. someone says:

    i cant find the archive utility. where is it or how do i get it?
    Im on leopard 10.5

  14. someone says:

    dont worry. got it. i ow am trying to make the jurrasiCraft mod work. it wont go past the done loading page

    • McYukon says:

      From the different testing I’ve done I’ve found that not all mods work on 10.5 (For example, Zombe’s Mod Pack works, while the Better Chat mod doesn’t) . I’m not sure as to why this is but I imagine it has something to do with the developer using java functions that aren’t backwards compatible.
      I think your best bet on getting this solved is by asking the mod creator if he can make it compatible if it is incompatible.

  15. peter says:

    there is a third method for opening the minecraft.jar file and in my opinion it is the easiest by far.

    open terminal and past this code:
    cd ~
    mkdir mctmp
    cd mctmp
    jar xf ~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar

    now in users there is a folder called MCTMP (this is the minecraft.jar file) past your .class files from the mod into that folder, then type this code into terminal:
    NOTE: do NOT delete the the META_INF folder. the code will do it for you.

    rm META-INF/MOJANG_C.*
    jar uf ~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar ./
    cd ..
    rm -rf mctmp

    now boot up minecraft and have fun playing!

  16. omg says:

    i got my brother to download the mod airplane its compatible with 0.5_1 or what ever it is.
    i go onto minecraft i login and when it should go to the main menu it is just a black screen

    • McYukon says:

      I have tried the Airplane mod myself and haven’t gotten it to work so I can’t really help you there since I don’t know what the problem is with it.

  17. Ryan says:

    What if the mod requires ModLoader to launch the mod into Minecraft? Do I need to use ModLoader in the first place?

    • McYukon says:

      Yes, you will need to install ModLoader and then install any Mods you downloaded that need ModLoader to work.
      AFIK It’s explained in a README that is in the ModLoader download.

  18. jake says:

    Will the Portal Gun mod work with osx 10.5? I have an older PPC iMac as well, and I just get the dreaded black screen after installing Modloader and or Audiomod(after following specific instructions correctly and everything), much less the actual mod. I’ve gotten Zombe’s modpack and TooManyItems to both work. Should I just try the command line method? I did that with TooManyItems in minecraft 1.5, and that worked for me. Thanks!

    • McYukon says:

      I haven’t tried that one Mod yet, but by all means use the command line method. It will keep you from making an error in recombining the files.
      If it still doesn’t work after that, I would suspect the Mod isn’t compatible with 10.5

  19. Ellis Brait says:

    Hey i cant find Archive Utility could u tell me were i find it thanks :)

    • McYukon says:

      If it isn’t listed in the right-click’s open with menu, then it should be in /System/Library/CoreServices/

      • justin says:

        Oh, no, i need help, ok so i did EVERYTHING you said and when i opend my minecraft it wouldent open, it has the

        UPDATING MINECRAFT

        done loading
        (green bar almost full)

        Did i do something wrong????
        PLEASE HELP!!!!

        • McYukon says:

          I don’t know, however you may be trying to use a mod that isn’t compatible with older OSs.
          You can always completely reinstall MC and try over.

  20. Mitch says:

    thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you

  21. sparkyman215 says:

    when i follow your instructions, when i open minecraft, after the loading all i get is a black screen :(. I tried the all the methods, and redid it a lot, but nothing ever works. I try to put TooManyItems if that help :)

    • McYukon says:

      Hmm, it’s impossible for me to know what is wrong without actually sitting in front of your computer.
      However a other commenter below has successfully got TooManyItems to work in 10.5 via the command line method.
      If all else fails, try this pre modded bin in the video description.
      “”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBvOmHfetuw””

  22. justin says:

    Help! i finished the tutorial but now it wont let me in minecraft, PLEASE HELP!

  23. justin says:

    Sorry for any spelling mistakes, English is not my main language…

  24. Tom Dart says:

    Hei, using my dads e-mail here

    We are downloading more creeps and weirdoes v2 for MC1.7.3 from http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/100514-173-morecreeps-weirdos-v200-camels-camel-jockeys-hotdog-revamp/

    We get a MoreCreepsv2.0.rar file.

    What do we do with this?

    Hoping you can help

  25. Mike Smith says:

    Ok I know why mods don’t work for many people running 10.5.8 on an Intel Mac. If you have downloaded the latest Java Update, yet it is still only Java 5, it is because you most likely have a 32-bit Intel processor. Java 6, which is what almost every Minecraft mod is compiled in, requires a 64-bit processor. I know this because I have done a lot of research into it (I have a 32-bit Mac and I have been trying to mod Minecraft for the longest time). Unless you can somehow find a mod out there compiled in Java 5 (I have yet to find one), you’re not going to be able to mod Minecraft unless you either upgrade to Snow Leopard (which supports Java 6 on 32-bit Macs) or buy a new computer with a 64-bit processor. I’m not sure whether or not SoyLatte would work because I have no idea how to download and install it successfully so that I would have Java 6. If anyone knows, could they please post a tutorial? It would be greatly appreciated.

  26. strobecast says:

    I had great success with this method. Two notes – The directory can be from root (~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar) or from the personal user library (/Users/yourcomputerloginname/Library/Application Support/minecraft/bin/) depending on how Minecraft was installed. I believe this causes a lot of confusion for those unfamiliar with the filesystem. Also, running the .jar files after the process fails. They need to be launched through the standard Minecraft launcher.

  27. jjajfopsifj says:

    My minecraft came without a mods folder. everything else is in the minecraft folder. Bin, texturepacks, but no mods! Will it work if i just create a mods folder?

  28. Zen says:

    I am new to mods and after following your advice still cannot find the meta-inf folder i am sure i have not deleted it because no mods i have installed work other than that minecraft works fine Help

    • McYukon says:

      I don’t know what might be wrong… are you definitely sure you’re in the right minecraft folder? It needs to contain lots of .class files.

  29. Sami says:

    I had the too many items mod working (with the first method) at one point, when I tried to add something else nothing worked. So I uninstalled everything including memory and now I cant get it to work again. Im following the instructions as I did before. Does anyone have any idea why its not working now?

    • McYukon says:

      I don’t know if you’ve managed to fix this yet, but if you delete the ~/Library/Application Support/minecraft folder and retry to mod it should definitely work.
      Make sure you backup any texture packs, Single Player Maps, etc.

  30. Ramsez says:

    Dude, I am seriously ready to cry. i bought minecraft and downloaded the game but there isn’t any folder anywhere! i went to application support and everything but there just isn’t any folder. i can still play the game offline but the only files that i have for minecraft are the icon directly to the game and the zip file. i tried unzipping and re-downloading the game but NOTHING WORKS

    • McYukon says:

      Are you on Mac OS Lion by any chance? Then it would make sense that the minecraft folder isn’t to be found because it’s hidden now.

      In the Finder press command+shift+g and type in ~/Library/Application Support/minecraft and hit enter.

  31. Nick says:

    Many thanks for reposting this here, I have been attemping for weeks to get modloader to work, and this has done the trick.

    Thanks again,
    Nick.

  32. Sam says:

    strange, that on lion, i can’t find the mine craft folder in application support….

    so i can’t load any mods..

  33. Kobra715 says:

    Hey, I’m on the OS X 10.5 with an Intel Core 2 Duo processor and my mods don’t work. Did everything you have here, but instead of crashing, the game works, but I can’t access the mods. I am trying to use TooManyItems and CJB’s Mods. In other words, the keys that open the mod options in game don’t work. Also, I think I have Java 1.6, but it says “Java SE 6″. Is this the right Java?

    • McYukon says:

      It sounds like you have the right Java version and are installing it correctly, otherwise the game wouldn’t even launch.
      Are you maybe missing something in the Mods folder where the Mods store their support files?
      ~/Library/Application Support/minecraft/mods

      For the ZombesModPack and BetterChatMod I have wd1966 & zombe Folders, each containing the Mods support and config files.

  34. Kobra715 says:

    There’s my mods folder. I did delete the TooManyItems, as I gave up on that before I saw this thread. There is a config folder in my minecraft folder for cjb, but there is nothing labeled support.

  35. […] You’re on a Mac – Many Macs can’t handle Java files compiled in 1.6.X. Try this guide to get mods compiled in Java build 1.6.X to run under a Mac. Also if the first link doesn’t work or isn’t applicable try this. […]

  36. Kobra715 says:

    No luck. I may have found the problem though. Are you supposed to be able to pull up the chat box in single player? Cause I can’t. If this doesn’t work, I’ll just spend the $30 bucks for Snow Leopard.

  37. Paige Strohm says:

    i’ve been trying this over and over but it doesn’t work! i do everything you say but when i log on to minecraft the mod is not there! i’ve tried the other version of this mod also, but that doesn’t work either. it just makes me want to cry… :( what am i doing wrong?

  38. Christopher says:

    What does this mod do actually?

  39. ablearkangle says:

    hey,. Ok I have mac 10.6.8 and minecraftSP 1.8.1. Now i been trying mods for a week. i have the newest jeva. but it just gose to a black screen,. or closes. Im just a beginner modder but i don’t get it. did the steps. i just want Mo Creatures. i got modloader and audiomod but nothing HELP please.

  40. ablearkangle says:

    should i get the older v. of the mods. or is it because i have minecraftSP??
    help please and thank you

  41. ablearkangle says:

    can i get a older minecraftSP? Its for 1.7_3

  42. Robert says:

    When I type this: mctmp MBPro$ jar xf ~/Library/Application\Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar into Terminal, I get this

    java.io.FileNotFoundException: /Users/MBPro/Library/ApplicationSupport/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar (No such file or directory)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.(FileInputStream.java:120)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.(FileInputStream.java:79)
    at sun.tools.jar.Main.run(Main.java:238)
    at sun.tools.jar.Main.main(Main.java:1149)

    I’m on Mac 10.5.8 with Java SE6, and I can manually find the minecraft.jar file at that location.

    • McYukon says:

      Your bunching up some commands there, use this. Just copy/paste it:

      cd ~
      mkdir mctmp
      cd mctmp
      jar xf ~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar

      Now in users there is a folder called MCTMP (this is the minecraft.jar file) pass (move) your .class files from the downloaded mod into that folder, then copy/paste this code section into terminal:
      NOTE: do NOT delete the the META_INF folder. the code will do it for you.

      rm META-INF/MOJANG_C.*
      jar uf ~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar ./
      cd ..
      rm -rf mctmp

      Now boot up minecraft and have fun playing!

  43. Michaela says:

    so i followed the entire first section (which is what i need) but when i login @ minecraft, it says ‘User not premium’ and ‘(not downloaded)’.
    what??

    • McYukon says:

      “User not premiem” means that your username doesn’t have the flag that says that you bought an paid for the game. If you bought the game and it is showing you this then you need to contact Mojang and get them to fix it.
      “Not downloaded” means that no game files exist, before modding you need to login once with your paid MC account so that the game downloads the game files.

  44. Hey man, thanks for this awesome tutorial! I followed your instructions and I was able to get Minecraft to use Java 1.6 on Mac OS 10.5.8. I was also able to mod the game without any issues. However, performance is a real problem. With Java 10.5, I was able to average about 40 FPS, without any mods installed. But now, I’m only averaging about 15 FPS. I tried installing all three versions of the OptiFine mod (only one installed at a time), yet performance remained unchanged. However, chunk updates increased significantly with the dual-core mod, even though FPS was terrible. I’m currently using a late-2008 MacBook Pro. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

    • McYukon says:

      Hmm, are you running the higher end graphics card? System Preferences>Energy Saver
      I own the same MBP as you do and I average 25FPS on a fresh MC bin, render distance far, fast graphics, smooth lighting on and the high end graphics card.

      • Tristan says:

        I checked the energy saver settings and sure enough, I’m using the “Better Performance” setting, yet FPS is still terrible. I’ve reverted to the original setup for Java so I’m running Java 1.5 and averaging 40 FPS, like before. A post in the OptiFine mod thread on the Minecraft forums suggested limiting Java to use only 256 MB of memory as too much memory can get swapped to disk and hinder performance. I tried implementing the command file, but I just don’t know how to do so. I also tried finding a developer’s build of Java 7 for Mac, but I couldn’t locate a stable release.

        • McYukon says:

          Well it would be something like this:
          java -Xmx4096m -Xms2048m -jar /Users/mcyukon/Applications/Games//Minecraft.app/Contents/Resources/Java/MinecraftLauncher.jar

          • McYukon says:

            Depending on where your Minecraft app is located you need to change part of the path that is before the /Minecraft.app/ part.
            Pasting all that into the Terminal app and hitting enter should open MC with the amount of RAM specified in the Xms and Xmx. The numbers are in MB

  45. Greg says:

    Thanks for this great guide! The entire first step for OSX Leopard users was something I had never found on installation instructions anywhere else… Sadly, because I have an Intel-based Macbook Pro with a 32 bit processor, it appears that I cannot install any mods at all because Java 6 is only 64 bit for this OS. I went through all the steps before I saw that bit at the bottom about Java 6 not working unless I upgrade to Snow Leopard. It would be nice to move that bit up to the top where the Leopard instructions are to save other Leopard 32 bit users some time! Damn scumbag Apple… guess I will have to bite the bullet and get Snow Leopard now if I want to install fly mod :(

  46. pougemahun says:

    I cannot find “Find the minecraft.jar file. It is located at /Users/####/Library/Application Support/minecraft/bin/” where is “Users” i have looked everywhere I can. I am on Mac OS X 10.7

    • McYukon says:

      Yeah, In Lion the Library folder is hidden so do this. In the Finder press command+shift+g and past in this path. ~/Library/Application Support/minecraft/
      It should take you right to the MC folder

  47. Seb101011 says:

    You guys should all try the yogbox it has tons of cool mods all you have to do id do this first and the installer problem will be fixed

  48. Tboy says:

    Hey, everything workes, but after compressing the contents of the mincraft folder, I am unable to find the resulting zip. Where is it?

  49. jake says:

    Whenever I try to archive mine craft.jar, it shows up with a zip file called “mine craft.jar.cpgz” and when I open that It goes to Minecraft 2.jar. What do i do?

  50. Tim says:

    Hey, i was reading the guide, and i am at the part where you delete 1.5+ and replace it with 1.6+, and i cannot seem to find the 1.5+ in the text document. Any help is appreciated!! Thanks so much!!

  51. diego says:

    How do you open .class files, I’m not saying like run it(i know you need another file to do that) but to open it like the unarchiver would do, text edit is the only thing that works for me and i don’t understand *****, just some random numbers. Please, i want to change some files such as the boat and minecart. BTW I have the latest java for Mac 1.6.8 and Minecraft 1.0.0

  52. Lord B. says:

    Dear McYukon,

    your tutorial was brilliant, so that I finally managed to install Modloader to minecraft :-)
    I didn’t expect that there was a solution to my problem, but you had it!!
    Please receive many thankful greetings and the best wishes for the new year from Germany.

    LB

  53. yo1nixx says:

    is it normal that my minecraft wont open anymore? :/ i believe that i followed all the steps right

    • McYukon says:

      Heh, I would say not! Delete the whole Minecraft support folder in the application support folder. Then reopen MC and re-download all the required files, and try to remod it.

      Maybe you could also tell me:
      The mods your trying to install,
      Mac OS version,

  54. Rob says:

    What should i do with .png files? I’m trying to download the metallurgy mod. thanks.

  55. lolz334 says:

    I NEED You to tell me how to install more than one mod, i am trying to download NPC+ mod and all the files are in the mine craft folder andd all that stuff, BUT I DONT SEE ANY OF THEM! I CHECKED MIILIONS OF TIMES AND IT STILL DOESNT WORK !!
    HELP PLEASE!!

    • McYukon says:

      Works perfectly on a new clean minecraft.jar file for me.
      I
      #1 Opened up the minecraft.jar file
      #2 Downloaded the mod, (This one right? http://www.planetminecraft.com/mod/npcplus/ )
      #3 Unzipped it
      #4 Moved all the files from the resulting folder into the opened minecraft.jar
      #5 Deleted the META_INF folder
      #6 Opened game, started single player map, saw NCPC’s.
      NCPC's

  56. Trevor Page says:

    Hi

    I Single player commands before the MInecraft 1.1 update. then it stopped working. Now I try to install it and Minecraft just hangs on downloading files! I want to tear my hair out!!!! I am on Mac OS X 10.7.3 and can’t figure out want has changed!

    Thanks

    • McYukon says:

      I’ve tried it now twice on different days because I though my brain was maybe malfunctioning. Nope, nothing I tried seems to work.
      Even his official automated installer doesn’t work. Not sure what is going wrong…

      I did notice that he said to not delete the whole META_INF folder, just the MOJANG.C files. Tried that, didn’t work either. *shrug*

  57. […] run under a Mac or this video. If the first links don’t work or aren’t applicable try this. Game black screens while loading – You forgot to delete META-INF or you left out some class […]

  58. After exploring a number of the blog posts on your
    web page, I seriously appreciate your technique of blogging.
    I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be
    checking back soon.

  59. FogtheFrog says:

    Thank you so much !!
    I spent so much time trying to mod my minecraft…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.